top of page

'Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?' by Philip K. Dick

FTC disclaimer: I was not sent this product. I am not affiliated with the companies mentioned. All opinions are my own.


Plot Introduction:

Rick Deckard is a bounty hunter who works for the San Fransisco Police Department. Rick gets a pay check every time he kills an android - the robots that are beginning to be indistinguishable from humans.

John R. Isidore is a “chickenhead”. In other words, Isidore has limited mental capabilities due to radiation.

What happens when Isidore tries to protect what Rick has been assigned to kill?

Rating: 1.5 / 5

I just wasn’t at all excited by this , but realistically I know that it will be very helpful for writing English Literature A-Level essays.

I’m not ignoring that it was the first of the humanoid robot dystopian tradition, but it shouldn’t really take 2 weeks to read a novel that is less than 200 pages, should it…

The characters bored me, and the ending leaves the reader hanging without resolving lots of plot holes. What is Mercerism? Why was there a nuclear war? How does life work on the Colony worlds? What happens to Rick and Isidore and Iran? How did Rick and Iran meet? It almost needed a sequel or to be double the length.

I’m not even sure it was necessary to have the ”Colony world”/people that live on Mars subplot. Why couldn’t the androids have been created on earth?

However, I will praise Dick for having the guts to make the title six words long. And the .5 in my rating is due to one particularly well written passage I enjoyed reading.


Review written on 06/02/2022

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page