top of page

'Heart on Fire' by Amanda Bouchet

FTC disclaimer: I was not sent this product. I am not affiliated with the companies mentioned. All opinions are my own.


Rating: 2.5 / 5



My Plot Introduction:

Cat and her husband Griffin have succeeded in uniting Tarva and Sinta, two of the three realms in Thalyria.

There's only one left to conquer: Fisa.

However, Cat's evil mother, Andromeda, stands in the way of Cat and Griffin conquering Sinta and bringing long-lasting peace.

How can Cat defeat her mother without a proper understanding of her own magic?


In comparison to the previous two books, the plot arc of 'Heart on Fire' felt predictable, and I doubt I will remember it in a month's time.


Cat, the protagonist, becomes slightly arrogant and I didn't see how it was necessary to make her the chosen one in literally every possible way. Her magic becomes convoluted and excessive, and stopped contributing to her character.


The romance between Cat and Griffin was a little stale, and each of their interactions felt like a competition of who could say the most wholesome, romantic thing to the other.


The opening of the novel was dramatic but very random/irrelevant to the rest of the novel - it felt obvious that Bouchet was setting up a reason to write her side novel 'Fire of the Frost' (which, on a separate note, looks quite interesting.)


There was one big surprise about a third of the way through, which was followed by an exciting fight scene. This was my main reason for not rating 'Heart on Fire' lower than I have.


I do have a few more thoughts but I cannot give them without spoilers... DM me on Instagram if you want to know what they are.



Review written on 05/03/2022


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page