top of page

'Persuasion' by Jane Austen

FTC disclaimer: I was not sent this product. I am not affiliated with the companies mentioned. All opinions are my own.


Overall Rating: 2.5 / 5


An Introduction to the Plot...

Anne Elliot is twenty seven, and the only sensible one in her family. That family consisting of a baronet and his three daughters, of which Anne is one.

Heartbreak has been a constant in Anne's life, ever since she was persuaded to reject the hand of Captain Frederick Wentworth, her one true love.

When her father's finances are plunged into uncertainty, Anne goes to stay with her sister, Mary, and Mary's family. What she cannot predict is the day that Captain Wentworth reappears in her life.

Will the pair manage to set aside the past and finally unite?



One of the most predictable Austen novels I've ever read, but I think there's something comforting about knowing that you're buckled in for a happy ending! Especially considering it is physically impossible for me to re-watch 'Bridgerton' Season 1 one more time...


Anne was a 'nice' heroine - which I never love. Made likeable through her sisters both being so unlikable, , she lacked her own definitive character traits, except that she put others before herself. She didn't do much for herself.


Captain Wentworth, the love interest, was marginally more interesting, especially by the time we reached the end! Note - are two versions of the ending to 'Persuasion', one being significantly better (in my humble opinion) than the other.


The pacing of 'Persuasion' was very slow until the final climax. But this climax was my favourite of any Austen declaration of love that I've read. Which is a big deal. It had me grinning to my dog whilst I was wrapped up like a grandma in a rug in my garden (this happens more often than I'd like to admit.)


Like 'Northanger Abbey', but to a lesser extent, there was a sense of unfinished-ness about 'Persuasion'. Chronologically, I felt that I wanted the novel to have started eight years earlier!



Review written on 14/03/2022


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page