top of page

'The War of Two Queens' by Jennifer L. Armentrout

FTC disclaimer: I was not sent this product. I am not affiliated with the companies mentioned. All opinions are my own.


Rating - 4 / 5



My plot introduction:

Poppy is just about coping. Her husband, Casteel, is imprisoned by Ileana, the blood Queen, and Poppy is trying to unify the Atlantian armies under her name. All this time, her powers are changing and developing.

Can she rescue her husband, unite the realms, and discover who she really is?


My Review:

Firstly on character development… We got Casteel’s POV this time (with Poppy’s, of course) which was entertaining, added variation, and kept the romance fiery! Kieran and Poppy’s bond was well-developed, which I had been looking forward to on finishing the previous book. There was also a funny new character called Reaver who added lightness to the novel.


‘The War of Two Queens’ did get dark, which I enjoyed, especially in contrast to the comedy. Each of the battle scenes was powerfully depicted and exciting.


Armentrout, however, can over-complicate things for her reader. I had barely got my head around Poppy’s family tree in the previous book, only for it to be changed again. The series sometimes takes itself too seriously, and this novel was perhaps longer than it needed to be – and there will even be several more books to follow! Finally, at points this novel echoed Bouchet’s ‘Kingmaker’ series too closely (message me if you want to chat about the parallels).


Side note - I do not at all condone the online abuse Armentrout has suffered surrounding the publication of novel. Being disappointed by a book is not an excuse to spread hate x


Review written 15/04/2022


Check out 'The War of Two Queens' on Goodreads - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/57815107-the-war-of-two-queens



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page